Stone Arch Bridge History:
Built by railroad baron James J. Hill in 1883, the bridge allowed for increased movement of people and goods across the river. It served as a working railroad bridge until 1965 but is still seen as a symbol of the railroad age.
Rehabilitation of this National Historic Engineering Landmark began in 1980. Traffic on the bridge is now characterized by a much slower pace. Mostly used by walkers and bicyclists, the bridge is one of the best ways to enjoy the view of St. Anthony Falls.
The Stone Arch Bridge is a key link in the St. Anthony Falls Heritage Trail, which has pedestrian walkways and bicycle lanes. The Heritage Trail is a two-mile trail with an extensive system of interpretive and directional signs and kiosks.
Activities: Visitors can enjoy the trail on their own year-round. Seasonal guided walking tours of St. Anthony Falls and the Stone Arch Bridge are also offered.
Location: At the intersection of West River Road and Portland Ave. in Downtown Minneapolis. 125 Main St. SE, Minneapolis.